Page content Page content Section navigation Topic navigation Accessibility keys Sitemap Search Contact us portal
Go to Waikato Regional Council homepage
search icon mail icon contact us icon

  Council » Policies and Plans » Waikato Regional Policy Statement: Te Tauākī Kaupapahere Te-Rohe O Waikato » Operative Waikato Regional Policy Statement - Te Tauākī Kaupapahere Te-Rohe O Waikato » PART B » 11 Indigenous biodiversity » Policy 11.4 Safeguard coastal/marine ecosystems

Policy 11.4 Safeguard coastal/marine ecosystems

<< Previous 


 Next >> 

Protect indigenous biodiversity in the
coastal environment by:

  1. avoiding adverse effects on:
    1. indigenous taxa listed as ‘Threatened’ or ‘At Risk’ in the New Zealand Threat Classification System lists or taxa1 listed as threatened by the International Union of Nature and Natural Resources;
    2. habitats of indigenous species where the species are listed as Threatened or At Risk, are at the limit of their natural range, or are naturally rare;
    3. areas containing nationally significant examples of indigenous community types;
    4. indigenous ecosystems and vegetation types that are threatened in the coastal environment, or are naturally rare; and
    5. areas set aside for full or partial protection of indigenous biological diversity under legislation[2].
  2. maintaining or enhancing:
    1. areas used by marine mammals and wading/coastal birds including breeding, feeding, roosting and haul-out sites (areas where marine mammals come ashore);
    2. whitebait spawning areas and shellfish beds;
    3. habitats, corridors and routes important for preserving the abundance and diversity of indigenous and migratory species;
    4. indigenous habitats and ecosystems that are unique to the coastal environment and vulnerable to modification and the impacts of climate change, including estuaries, lagoons, coastal wetlands, dunelands, rocky reef systems, seagrass and saltmarsh;
    5. habitats of indigenous species that are important for recreational, commercial, traditional or cultural purposes; and
    6. areas of predominately indigenous vegetation in the coastal environment.

1 Taxa refers to named biological classification units assigned to individuals or sets of species (e.g. species, subspecies, genus) and examples of indigenous taxa listed as Threatened or At Risk within the Waikato Region include Maui’s Dolphin, Bryde’s Whale and Archey’s Frog (nationally critical), Moehau Stag beetle and Kokako (nationally endangered), NZ Falcon and Long-tailed bat (nationally vulnerable), and North Island Brown Kiwi (serious decline),

2 Including, for example, the West Coast North Island Marine Mammal Sanctuary.

The relevant objectives are:
3.1 Integrated management
3.3 Decision making
3.7 Coastal environment
3.16 Riparian areas and wetlands
3.19 Ecological integrity and indigenous biodiversity
3.21 Amenity
3.22 Natural character
About this site     Contact us     Feedback and complaints New Zealand Government