Skip to main content

Waste landfills map

There are five landfill sites in the region. Over 40 other landfills have recently closed.

In the Waikato region, all open and most closed landfills must have resource consents from Waikato Regional Council. A number of the closed landfills do not have consents. They only need one if there is an ongoing discharge of contaminants from the site.

This page shows the locations and status of the Waikato region’s landfills as at 9 March 2011.

Municipal Waste landfills map