Page content Page content Section navigation Topic navigation Accessibility keys Sitemap Search Contact us portal
Go to Waikato Regional Council homepage
search icon mail icon contact us icon

  Services » Regional Services » Plant and animal pests » Pest animals » Possums » Priority Possum Control Areas

Priority Possum Control Areas

Photo of possumPriority possum control areas (PPCAs) are areas of land that have been identified by the Waikato Regional Council as needing possum control in order to:

  • protect and enhance biodiversity (including improving the stability of catchments)
  • enhance farm production
  • maintain the gains of previous or existing possum control.

Waikato Regional Council contracts all possum control work, which is funded via rates.  Scrutiny is applied to every tender/contract situation to ensure that work is cost effective to ratepayers and is carried out following due process. Continued innovation is encouraged with the aim of improving the quality of the work carried out, results on the ground, customer satisfaction, accountability and value for money.

The factsheet below provides more information on what you can expect from Waikato Regional Council and its possum control contractors.

What you as a land occupier need to know [PDF, 370 KB]

Insight newsletter

'Insight' keeps landowners in PPCAs in touch with what is happening in PPCAs throughout the region. You can read our recent issues, below. We can also email you when the latest newsletter is out.  Just click on the  'Subscribe for updates' button, and register. Easy!


Autumn issue - 2019 [PDF, 2.9 MB]

Autumn issue - 2018 [PDF, 611 KB]

Autumn issue - 2017 [PDF, 1.6 MB]

Autumn issue - 2016 [PDF, 1 MB]

Where are the PPCAs?

The map below shows the locations and ID numbers of our Priority Possum Control Areas.  There's a table below the map that provides the area names that correspond to the ID numbers.

Click here to view and print off a PDF version of the map. [PDF, 474 KB]

Map showing PPCA areas

ID Area name
1 Aria
2 Arohena Sec 1
3 Arohena Sec 2
4 Bridal Veil Falls
5 Hauturu - Awaroa
6 Honikiwi
7 Mahoenui
8 Mangakino
9 Mokauiti 1
10 Mokauiti 2
11 Mount Karioi North Block
12 Mount Karioi South Block
13 Mount Pirongia
14 Mount Pirongia North Buffer
15 Mount Pirongia South Buffer
16 Ngaroma 1
17 Ngaroma 2
18 Ngutunui
19 North West Waikato Central
20 North West Waikato North
21 North West Waikato South
22 Nukuhakari - Awakino Aerial
23 Nukuhakari - Awakino Sec 1
24 Nukuhakari - Awakino Sec 2
25 Old Mountain Road (Hope Bush)
26 Old Mountain Road (Johnstones)
27 Oparau
28 Otahu
29 Pio Pio East
30 Pio Pio West
31 Pukemako
32 Rangitoto
33 Rangitoto Range
34 Te Miro - Whitehall
35 Te Miro Reserve
36 Te Tapui Block A
37 Te Tapui Block B
38 Te Tapui Reserve
39 Tiroa
40 Tirohanga Road
41 Waikite Valley - Te Kopia Sec 1
42 Waikite Valley - Te Kopia Sec 2
43 Waipa
44 Waipa Puniu II
45 Waotu
46 Whareorino
About this site     Contact us     Feedback and complaints New Zealand Government