Skip to main content

Results - data and trends

The link below points to a file that contains the source data to this indicator's graph and any additional data. The file is in comma separated (csv) format and intended to be opened in spreadsheet software.

Download the data file
(1 kb, 1 seconds to download, 56k modem)

Figure 1 depicts the areas of different coastal protection in the Waikato Region.

Table 1 shows the amount (ha) of the Coastal Marine Area (CMA); (the area between Mean High Water Springs and 12 nautical miles offshore) awarded a degree of protection, with results presented separately for the west coast, and for the Coromandel Peninsula and Firth of Thames.

  • Figure 1 and Table 1 show that very little (0.08%) of the Waikato region’s Coastal Marine Area are awarded the protection of Marine Reserve. However, many of the region’s harbours and estuaries have some protection as ASCVs. 15,000 ha (1.51% of the Coastal Marine Area) along the west coast and 33,000 ha (3.27%) along the Coromandel Peninsula and the Firth of Thames are afforded this protection. 
  • The entire coast of the Firth of Thames and the Coromandel Peninsula belongs within the Hauraki Gulf Marine Park. The total area of Hauraki Gulf Marine Park is 1,388,786 ha. It includes the entire territorial waters of the Firth of Thames and Coromandel Peninsula as well as the eastern Coastal Marine Area of Auckland Council. 
  • The entire west coast of the Waikato region belongs within a marine mammal sanctuary known as the West Coast North Island marine mammal sanctuary. 
  • Taiapure, Rohe Moana and Mataitai (see Table 2 for definitions) occupy significant areas of the Coastal Marine Area (16,000, 50,000 and 11,000 ha respectively), but are limited to the west coast of the region.

Figure 1: Coastal protected areas in the Waikato region

Table 1: Protected coastal areas (hectares) on the west coast, and the Coromandel Peninsula and Firth of Thames

Protected areaWest coast (ha)Coromandel Peninsula and Firth of Thames (ha)
CMA 431,278 581,771
Marine reserves 0 796
Marine parks 0 581,771
Marine mammal sanctuaries 431,278 0
ASCVs 15,264 33,121
Taiapure 15,968 0
Rohe moana 50,691 0
Mataitai 10,800 0
Cable and pipeline zones 439 0


Table 2: Detail on different forms of coastal protection

Protected coastal areaOrganisation responsible
(for legislation/management)
Level of protection
Marine Reserve Department of Conservation All marine life is protected. Fishing, or removal or disturbance of any living or non-living material is prohibited. An example is Te Whanganui-A-Hei (Cathedral Cove).
Marine mammal sanctuary Department of Conservation Particular activities, such as seismic surveying or mining, are restricted. An example is the West Coast North Island marine mammal sanctuary. 
Marine Park Protected by Fisheries and Harbours acts or under their own legislation Particular activities may be restricted and possibly different areas within the park may have different levels of protection. For example, commercial trawling is not allowed in the Hauraki Gulf nor may scallops be taken in Whangapoua Harbour. An example is Hauraki Gulf Marine Park.
Area of Significant Conservation Value (ASCV) Waikato Regional Council ASCVs are identified in the Regional Coastal Plan and it is intended that 
“…any proposed use or development in these areas avoids or remedies any adverse effect on the values that have been identified.” 
An example is Whaingaroa (Raglan) Harbour.
Taiapure Ministry of Primary Industries Taiapure are given special status to recognise rangatiratanga. Under the Fisheries Act 1996 management arrangements can be established that recognise the significance of the area to iwi or hapu.
An example is Kawhia Aotea Taiapure.
Rohe Moana Ministry of Primary Industries An area where Kaitiaki are appointed for the management of customary food gathering.
An example is Aotea Harbour (Nga Hapu o Aotea Moana).
Mataitai Ministry  of Primary Industries An area that recognises the management practices of Maori in non commercial fishing activities, and restricts commercial fishing. An example is Marokopa Mataitai.
Submarine Cable and Pipeline Protection Zone Ministry of Primary Industries No fishing or anchoring allowed to protect the cables/pipeline from damage. 
An example is Taharoa.