Slider Image 1

How to vote

Voting packs, including a candidate profile book, personalised voting papers and a reply paid envelope, will be sent to all eligible voters by post during September 2019. You may be asked to vote for more than one candidate depending on where you live.

Your voting papers need to be returned by 12pm on Saturday, 12 October 2019.

If you are posting your papers, please allow enough time for them to reach the electoral officer before the close of voting.

After Saturday, 5 October, you should deliver your completed voting papers to your nearest district council office or Hamilton City Council during normal business hours.

The electoral system our council is using is First Past the Post (FPP).

Why vote?

Democracy only succeeds if you get involved.

If you’re concerned about how community money is spent, you need to vote. If you want to ensure your vision, needs and priorities for the Waikato aren’t overlooked, you need to vote.

Who can vote

You can vote if you are enrolled on either the resident or ratepayer electoral roll for the Waikato region.

If you don’t know whether you are on the roll, take a look online. You can also view the roll at any post shop in the Waikato region.

Enrolling is simple

All parliamentary electors are automatically enrolled on the local authority residential electoral roll for the address where they live. If you want to enrol, or update your details, you can sort it online or over the phone. Call freephone 0800 36 76 56 or +64 9 909 4182. If you are calling from overseas, international calling rates may apply.

If you are on the parliamentary roll in one area and pay rates on a property in another area, you may be entitled to enrol to vote on the non-resident ratepayer roll. You can register as a non-resident ratepayer elector with the relevant local authority.

Nominations

Waikato General Constituency - 2 members

Name Phone number Email
Richard Gee 027 472 0410 richardgee@xtra.co.nz
Keith Holmes 07 887 6724 or 027 481 5648 jenholm@xtra.co.nz
Fred Lichtwark 027 426 1714 or 07 825 8499 fred@harbourcare.co.nz
Pamela Storey 027 245 4006 storeyforwrc@gmail.com

 

Waihou General Constituency - 2 members

Name Phone number Email
Gray Baldwin 027 239 0497 baldwin@xtra.co.nz
Bill Cox 027 450 8939 Billcoxnz@gmail.com
Stu Husband 027 233 0030 stuhusband@xtra.co.nz
Tara Jesperson 0204 086 8734 Tara.rara70@gmail.com
Hugh Vercoe 027 490 4406 hugh@embassyfinance.co.nz

 

Waipā- King Country General Constituency - 2 members

Name Phone number Email
Dan Armstrong 022 023 2477 dan_armstrongnz@protonmail.com
Andrew MacPherson 021 932 624 andrew.macpherson@outlook.co.nz
Stuart Kneebone 07 827 3079 or 021 943 055 Knees.bones@gmail.com

 

Hamilton General Constituency - 4 members

Name Phone number Email
William Durning 0274 300 006 wdurning@gaucho.co.nz
Peter Koizumi 027 226 1032 peter4wrc@gmail.com
Jennifer Nickel 027 310 3233 jen4wrc@gmail.com
Barry Quayle 027 493 1349 btquayle@hotmail.com
Russ Rimmington 07 858 3988 rimmington@xtra.co.nz
Angela Strange 027 370 5457 angestrange@gmail.com

 

Taupō-Rotorua General Constituency - 1 member

Name Phone number Email
Bernhard Chrustowski 07 378 7559 or 021 186 3376 bernhard.chrustowski@xtra.co.nz
Alana Delich 027 673 8851 alana.delich@gmail.com
Kathy White 027 343 9739 or 07 378 3977 katharinewhite@hotmail.com

 

Thames-Coromandel General Constituency - 1 member

Name Phone number Email
Clyde Graf 027 446 7610 thegrafboys@xtra.co.nz
Liam Kedzlie 027 868 9568 mkedzlie@iafor.org
Dal Minogue 07 866 2204 dal.minogue@gmail.com
Denis Tegg 027 210 5344 denistegg4wrc@gmail.com

 

Ngā Hau e Whā Māori Constituency - 1 member

Name Phone number Email
Tipa Mahuta 021 919 398 mahuta1@xtra.co.nz

 

Ngā Tai ki Uta Māori Constituency - 1 member

Name Phone number Email
Kataraina Hodge 027 450 8905 katarainah@xtra.co.nz

 

Nominations closed at 12pm on 16 August 2019

You can see photos of the all the candidates, and read their profile statements. 

>>> Go to this page, and select the constituency you are interested in.

Election results

Election results will be available here on 17 October 2019.

Nominations close on 16 August 2019

We’ll be announcing all the candidates on 21 August.

Candidate nominations

 

Friday, 12 July

Pre-election period commences

Friday, 19 July

Nominations open

Friday, 16 August

Nominations close at 12pm

Friday, 20 September-Wednesday, 25 September

Voting documents delivered to electors

Saturday, 12 October

Election day
Voting closes at 12pm

Thursday, 17 October-Wednesday, 23 October

Declaration of results

 

Election results

Election results will be available here on 17 October 2019.